060608 - Discover and buy tourist services, cultural offers and shows in Rome
You are in: Home » Culture and leisure » Historic places of worship » Catholic Churches » Chiesa di Sant'Isidoro degli Irlandesi

Chiesa di Sant'Isidoro degli Irlandesi

Typology: Non Parish Church


Address: Via degli Artisti, 41
Zone: Rione Ludovisi (Via Veneto) (Roma centro)


Telephone: +39 06 4885359

Opening times

Opening time:
Weekdays: 09.00am; 12.00am (English)
Sunday: 09.15am; 11.30am
Visitors are not  allowed  during  Mass (religious services)
For services schedule please refer to:
Opening times are subject to change. Please call the Church
Cappella Da Sylva:
Visits by request from Monday to Saturday  10.00am - 18.00am please call 064885359


S. ISIDORO DEGLIIRLANDESI In 1621, a group ofFrati Francescani Spagnoli,during the beatification of Isidoro (560-636),doctor of the Church, decided to build a center for their communallife during thebeatification of Isidoro (560-636), doctor of the Church. A year laterthey commissioned AntonioFelice Casoni the construction of a church and a convent toAntonio Felice Casoni. The building phase continuedin 1625 under the Padri Francescani Irlandesi , who recruited DomenicoCastelli to assist in engaged in the projectDomenico Castelli. The church was consecrated in 1686 and today itis the office of the Irish college. The facadefaçade, built by Francesco CarloBizzaccheri in 1704, has two parts, built byFrancesco Carlo Bizzaccheri in 1704, preceded by a double rampstaircase. In the  upperpart, there is the statue of S. Isidoro and S. Patrizio, patron of the Irish people.. The interior, embodying a single nave,has four chapelsand a barrel shaped vault with four chapels.The roof is decorated with  by Charles Andrèe’Van Loo’s fresco, depicting “Gloria di San Isidoro” (1729). Inside the Da Silva chapel DaSilva, based on Bernini’s design (1663), are one finds frescoesby Carlo Maratta (1625-1713). On the main altar, one finds a painting by Andrea Sacchi depicts  entitled “ S.Isidoro e la Vergine” (1622). Adjacent are the Spanish cloister(1622-26) and the Wadding cloister (1630).
Last checked: 2019-08-05 14:35